What (I hope) my future will look like

In my last couple blog posts I’ve talked about how I want to be a programmer and such. Today, I’ll tell you a little bit about where I can see myself in 10-15 years.

hopefully,in 10-15 years, I will wake up in the morning, and go eat breakfast, get ready for the day, etc. Then (hopefully) I will go to my day job in a rising software company, where I spend the majority of my day programming or fixing bugs in others’ programs.

I’ll come home to my in-town chateau, eat supper and go downstairs to my desk where I’ll have multiple monitors set up for programming. When I turn on my computer I put in my password and begin working on an indie game that I will (hopefully) get published one day.

Maybe this sounds boring to you, but hey, It’s my dream, not yours.

I talk to myself while Programming

The title says it all, folks. I talk to myself when I’m typing code. I’ll give you an example. Say I’m writing a C program and I have a statement like this:

if(variable == ‘a’ || variable == ‘A’)

I would say to myself “if variable is equal to a or variable is equal to big A”. Then, when I type the first “{“, I say to myself “then”.

Finally, when I type:

printf(“example”);

I say to myself “print example”. I don’t usually say anything for the following “}”,because my IDE usually adds it in automatically.(Thank You, CodeBlocks!)

Upon first realizing this, I tried to type code without talking to myself, and I realized another thing: I’m terrible at writing it when I don’t. If I’m not constantly talking about what I’m writing (or at least mouthing words that pertain to what I write), I loose my train of thought and have to reread my line to regain my momentum.

Wierd, huh?